How to share real-time location with Google Maps on Android

You’ll find it interesting that you can share your real-time location with anyone you want on Google Maps. While the feature is interesting, it is also helpful. With this function, you can track the location of your friend or family as well as share your real-time location with them. If you or any of your friend and family feeling unsafe while traveling, then in this type of situation the location sharing feature is very helpful. The person can share their current location including route and ETA.

How to share your current location with Google Maps on Android

You can share your location either the person you’re sharing location with have or haven’t a Google account. Here both tricks are given to share your location information.

If the receiver has a Google account:

First, you need to add the Gmail address of the recipient into your Google Contacts.

1.    Open ‘Google Maps’ on your Android mobile or tablet.

2.    Sign in with your account.

3.    Go to ‘Menu.’

4.    Select ‘Location sharing.’

5.    Tap ‘Add people.’

6.    Go with the prompts and customize settings, as you want.

7.    Then tap on ‘Select People.’

8.    Allow Google Maps to access your contacts.

9.    Select the person to share your location.

10.    And hit ‘Share.’

If the receiver hasn’t a Google account:

1.    Open ‘Google Maps’ on your Android mobile or tablet.

2.    Go to ‘Menu.’

3.    Select ‘Location sharing.’

4.    Tap ‘Add people.’

5.    Tap on […] icon.

6.    Select ‘Copy to clipboard.’

Send the copied link to the person you want to share your location. With this link, the person can check your location information, maximum up to 72 hours.

How to share your location with another app

You can also choose a messaging app to share your location. Here is how to choose another app to share your location information.

1.    Open ‘Google Maps’ on your Android mobile or tablet.

2.    Go to ‘Menu.’

3.    Select ‘Location sharing.’

4.    Tap ‘Add people.’

5.    Tap on […] icon.

6.    And select the app.

How to stop sharing your location with a person

1.    Open ‘Google Maps’ on your Android mobile or tablet.

2.    Go to ‘Menu.’

3.    Select ‘Location sharing.’

4.    Tap the (X) button next to the person’s name to stop sharing your location with them.

How to share ETA information

Before starting your journey either with foot, bicycle or car, if you want to share details like estimated arrival time, destination, and route with your family or friend, then you can share your trip progress. Here is how.

1.    Open ‘Google Maps’ on your Android mobile or tablet.

2.    Set the starting and destination point.

3.    Start navigation.

4.    Tap on ‘More’ button.

5.    Select ‘Share trip progress.’

6.    Select the person you want to share ETA.

7.    Tap on ‘Share.’

When you reach the destination,the location sharing will stop. You can also stop it manually before arriving destination.

To manually stop location sharing:

•    Tap on ‘More’ button.

•    And select ‘Stop sharing.’

That’s it!

Mathew Anderson is a creative person who has been writing blogs and articles about cyber security. He writes about the latest updates regarding mcafee.com/activate and how it can improve the work experience of users. His articles have been published in many popular e-magazines, blogs and websites.

source : google maps

Views: 1

Comment

You need to be a member of The Brooklynne Networks to add comments!

Join The Brooklynne Networks

Videos

  • Add Videos
  • View All

Brooklynne.net- Financial Services for Businesses and Professionals

© 2019   Created by Brooklynne Networks.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

tag.